The Georgia Society for Histotechnology 

President's Message

Mike Ayers,

GSH President


Welcome to the Georgia Society for Histotechnology Website. As President, I want to encourage your input and active participation in your society. The Board of Directors voted last August to change the membership requirements.  If you are a Histotech working in the State of Georgia, you are automatically a potential member of GSH with all rights as set forth in the revised bylaws. There are no membership dues; however you must annually submit a membership form for documentation. This benefits GSH by knowing who you are and also keeps you informed of what is going on with GSH and other histology related information. Your membership information will not be made public but is necessary to update our records. Also, by submitting a membership form, GSH has more membership input and stronger representation at the National Society for Histotechnology House of Delegates. The number of delegates to NSH is based on the number of NSH memberships in Georgia, not the number of GSH memberships, which is a good incentive for GSH members to become NSH members. You can register online here.

We had a very successful State meeting at Callaway Gardens April 13-15, 2007. There were over 115 attendees, numerous vendors and great Speakers. I want to thank all who attended and those who worked so hard to make it all happen.  Callaway Gardens was a gracious host site with many amenities to offer. 

GSH cannot thank our Vendor’s enough for going the extra mile with all the different equipment and supplies on display. Special thanks go to all our vendors for their gracious donations. Carnell Burlock of Ventana Medical sponsored a hospitality on Saturday night. Sakura Finetek sponsored the GSH Histotechnolgist of the Year awarded to Lynn Nabors, presented by Sharon Wehman. Oran Eichler of Labsco sponsored the GSH Student of the Year awarded to Aubany Hernandez. Labsco also sponsored the Past President Award presented to Connie Wavrin. Kevin Luczynski of Surgipath sponsored the President's award presented to Chris Coley. Willie Spears of Thermo Fisher donated a copy of Freida Carson's book "Histotechnology - A Self Instructional Textbook" as a door prize for the PR table. Lily Reed of Vashaw and Caren Miears of Dako each donated gift baskets as door prizes. Chuck Meyer of TBS, Mario Leonlongato of Vision Bio, Larry Fields of Hacker, Scott Bryant of s.Bryant Inc, and Leslie Robinson of Statlab gave door prizes for the exhibit hall attendees.  Gary Beck of Polyscientific generously gave money as prizes to winning attendees. Also GSH BOD members donated door prizes for the PR table, for the awards luncheon, and for the general membership meeting. 

It is a tremendous honor to announce that Georgia will be the host site for the 2008 Region III meeting. The date and place will be announced very soon.  We will need every Region III State Society's help in making this a successful meeting.

Once again thanks to all who attended and to the ones who were not able to be there but worked on the program. We will see you in 2008. Feel free to contact me anytime with your questions, thoughts or suggestions. 


Mike Ayers
President GSH